• Baggett Elementary Local School Council

    The A+ Education Reform Act of 2000 established school councils in Georgia to “bring communities and schools closer together in a spirit of cooperation to achieve the following:

    solve difficult education problems

    improve academic achievement

    provide support for teachers and administrators

    bring parents into the school-based decision-making process

    School councils provide advice, recommendations, and assistance to principals and local boards of education. The law details the composition of the council, its responsibilities, and procedures for conducting business.


    The 2004 General Assembly in HB 1190 provided flexibility in membership, chairmanship, meetings, elections, and trainings for school councils. The changes also provided clarity that school councils are to focus on student achievement and school improvement.

    The 2007 General Assembly changed the composition of school councils, requiring that a majority of members be parents (or guardians) and that at least two parents be businesspersons. At a minimum, a School Council is composed of seven members, including the following:


    The Principal

    Two certificated teachers elected by the teachers

    Four parents (or guardians) elected by the parents (please list as “Parent”); two of the parents must be businesspersons

    The school council may, within its bylaws, increase the number of members, as long as the parents remain the majority.

    Baggett Elementary School Council Members

    Representatives serving in this capacity for the 2020-2021 school year are:


    Mitch Green Principal

    Brooke Walker Certified Teacher  2020-2022

    Dwanell Dibartolo Kindergarten Teacher Certified Teacher 2021-2023

    Jaunetta Smith  Parent  2021-2023

    Fadila Aberkane Parent  2021-2023

    Jennifer Genzy Business Partner  2021-2023

    Pedro Dominguez  Parent 2021-2023

    Katherine Useche Parent 2021-2023 

  • The School Council meeting dates for the 2022-23 school year are as follows:

     September 30th, December 9th, February 10th, and April 21st.