Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS)

  • About the Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS) Curriculum

    Gwinnett’s curriculum for grades K–12 is called the Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS) and is aligned to the state-adopted Georgia Standards of Excellence in Language Arts (K-12), Mathematics (K-12), and literacy standards for Science, Social Studies, and Technical Education for middle and high school students. The Georgia Performance Standards (GPS) are in place for other content areas. Gwinnett’s AKS is a rigorous curriculum that prepares students for college and 21st century careers in a globally competitive future.

    The AKS for each grade level spells out the essential concepts students are expected to know and skills they should acquire in that grade or subject. The AKS offers a solid base on which teachers build rich learning experiences. Teachers use curriculum guides, technology, and instructional resources to teach the AKS and to make sure every student is learning to his or her potential. 

    The Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS) curriculum was developed by our teachers, with input from our parents and community, in response to Gwinnett County Public Schools’ mission statement:

    The mission of Gwinnett County Public Schools is to pursue excellence in academic knowledge, skills, and behavior for each student resulting in measured improvement against local, national, and world-class standards.

    K-8 Parent AKS Brochures:

    The Parent AKS brochures are available at all elementary and middle schools in GCPS. The condensed format provides an overview of each AKS curriculum area for your student's grade level, as well as information about special programs, promotion requirements, and grade-level assessments. Translations:  中文   한국어     Español   Tiếng Việt 

    K-5 parent brochures 6-8 parent brochures


    High School | AKS Booklet

    This booklet provides details about the AKS for high school courses.

    K-8 AKS Booklets By Grade-level

    These booklets provide details about the AKS curriculum areas for each grade level. 

    K-12 AKS Booklets By Subject

    These booklets provide details about the AKS curriculum for each grade level in the subjects of Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Career Technical Education.

    AKS Vertical Booklets By School Level

    These booklets provide the AKS by school level.