• Dr. Tarece Johnson Dr. Tarece Johnson

    District V
    Chairperson, Board of Education

    (678) 521-4548



    Dr. Tarece Johnson, who prefers to be called Dr. Tarece, joined the School Board in January 2021. She represents all or portions of the Berkmar, Discovery, Duluth, Meadowcreek, Norcross, and Peachtree Ridge clusters in addition to Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology and Maxwell High School of Technology. Dr. Tarece earned a BA from La Universidad del Sagrado Corazón (Puerto Rico) and a MPA (Columbia University), a MBA (Emory University), and an EdD. She is an educational leader, entrepreneur, and teacher. She is a diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice professional. Dr. Tarece is an advocate, activist, author, and artist. She is passionate about ethnic and global education and dedicated to multicultural and multilingual learning. Her current term will expire in December 2024.

Schools located in District V:

    • Alford Elementary School
    • Baggett Elementary School
    • Baldwin Elementary School
    • Beaver Ridge Elementary School
    • Bethesda Elementary School
    • Chesney Elementary School
    • Corley Elementary School
    • Ferguson Elementary School
    • Graves Elementary School
    • Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology
    • Hopkins Elementary School
    • Kanoheda Elementary School
    • Maxwell High School of Technology
    • Meadowcreek Elementary School
    • Meadowcreek High School
    • McClure Health Science High School
    • Minor Elementary School
    • Norcross Elementary School
    • Radloff Middle School
    • Rockbridge Elementary School
    • Stripling Elementary School
    • Summerour Middle School
    • Sweetwater Middle School