Skip To Main Content
Gwinnett County Public Schools

2024 District I Area Board Meeting

March 26 at Grayson High School

 This meeting will be streamed and recorded. Watch live on GCPS TV or on the GCPS TV app (available on AppleAndroidAmazon Fire, and Roku).

*If the video freezes using the link above, please refresh your browser page. If that does not fix the problem, then use this link to access the livestream.

Board Member Karen Mulzac Watkins
Board Member Dr. Tarece Johnson-Morgan

Hosted by:

Karen Watkins, 
District I, Vice Chair

This spring, the Gwinnett County Board of Education will go on the road, meeting once in each Board member’s district. At this year’s Area Board Meetings, attendees will have the opportunity to meet Gwinnett County Public Schools’ superintendent, Dr. Calvin J. Watts, and members of the Gwinnett County Board of Education.

If interpretation services are needed, please email four days prior to the meeting to allow time to accommodate the interpretation request.


Gwinnett County Public Schools Request to Address the Board at the 2024 Area Board Meetings
The 2024 Area Board Meetings are organized by School Board district. While citizens can attend any one of the five meetings, priority for speakers signing up for the public comments portion of the meeting will be given to attendees who reside in the district hosting the meeting. Attendees will have the opportunity to meet Gwinnett County Public Schools' Superintendent, Dr. Calvin J. Watts, and members of the Gwinnett County Board of Education.

Per Board Policy, the purpose of these meetings shall be to allow for general comment and input. During the Area Board Meetings, the Superintendent will give a State of the System address. Official business shall not be transacted at these meetings. All meetings will be streamed live and recorded.  

Citizens wishing to address the Board with an issue or concern should attempt to resolve the matter through the appropriate district or school administrative Chain of Command before bringing it to the Board. In order to assure that persons who wish to appear before the Board may be heard and, at the same time, allow the Board to conduct its meetings properly and efficiently, the Board has adopted policy BCBI pertaining to public participation in meetings. Like regular monthly board meetings, a maximum of 20 speakers will be allowed to speak, speakers will have three minutes to share their comments with the Governance Team. Learn more about how to address the Board


Alcova ES Dacula HS Harbins ES Richards MS
Archer ES Dacula MS Lawrenceville ES Rosebud ES
Bay Creek MS Dryer ES Lovin ES Starling ES
Cedar Hill ES Fort Daniel ES Magil ES Trip ES
Cooper ES Freeman's Mill ES McConnell MS Winn Holt ES
Couch ES Grace Snell MS Mulberry ES  
Crews MS Grayson ES Norton ES  
Dacula ES Grayson HS Oakland Meadow School  


All meetings begin at 7 p.m. in the host school’s theater, with a Board Governance Team Meet and Greet beginning at 6:30 p.m. 


District II

Steven B. Knudsen, 2024 Chair

April 8 at Mill Creek HS


District III

Dr. Mary Kay Murphy

March 12 at Duluth HS


District IV

Dr. Adrienne Simmons

March 14 at Shiloh HS


District V

Dr. Tarece Johnson-Morgan

March 19 at Meadowcreek HS