• Clubs

    School clubs help students develop their social skills. They fine-tune their interactions with their peers and with faculty members, and they have the opportunity to connect with other students who share similar interests. These interactions may form the basis for enduring friendships.  Please consider joining one of our fun groups!

  • Anime/Manga Club

    Description

    The Anime/Manga Club of Duluth Middle School intends to provide interested students an opportunity to share their love of Japanese animation/comics and learn about various facets of anime and Japanese culture. Students will have the opportunity to learn new animation techniques, share original artwork and writing, and view various Anime.  In addition, students will learn about Japanese culture and customs, and spoken Japanese words and phrases.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Danielle Page: danielle.page@gcpsk12.org

    Materials Needed: Subscription to Funimation and or crunchy roll, drawing supplies like trace paper, pencils, and pens, etc...

    Sign Up Link 

    Meeting Information

    First and Third Tuesday of the Month from 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

    Start Date: TBD

  • Environmental & Gardening Club

    Description

    We will meet monthly to discuss environmental-related topics and concerns. We will also discuss ways that DMS and residents of Duluth can reduce our environmental impact. We will be using videos, games, discussions and other interesting formats to introduce and analyze information about these topics.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Rusty Sturken: rusty.sturken@gcpsk12.org

    Tara Raymond: tara.raymond@gcpsk12.org

    Patricia Jackson: patricia.jackson@gcpsk12.org

    Sign Up Form

    Meeting Information

    First and Third Tuesday of each Month 8:15 am – 8:45 am

    Start Date: Sept 21, 2021

  • Fiber Arts Club

    Description

    In Fiber Arts Club, you will learn how to work with materials consisting of natural or synthetic fiber and other components, such as fabric or yarn. If you love working with your hands and being crafty, this may be the perfect club for you.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Alison Cundiff: alison.cundiff@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Every Monday from 4:15 pm - 5:30 pm

    Start Date: September 6, 2021

  • GSA

    Description

    Looking for a community of people like you? Want to be a better ally? Join GSA!
    A Genders & Sexualities Alliance (GSA) is a student-run club which provides a safe place for students to meet, support each other, talk about issues related to orientation/identity and expression, and work to end homophobia and transphobia.
    Activities the club will engage in include:

    • Games
    • Snacks
    • Movies/TV shows
    • Comics
    • Art
    • Discussions
    • Meet & Greets
    • LGBTQ+ History
    • & more!

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Alison Cundiff: alison.cundiff@gcpsk12.org

    Judith Boneta: judith.boneta@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    1st (schoolday) Monday of each month from 4:30-5:30 in the cafeteria

    Start Date: November 1, 2021

  • Honors Orchestra

    Description

    Auditioned ensemble of advanced 7th and 8th-grade orchestra musicians. Participants in this club must be enrolled in an orchestra class. A musical instrument is needed for this club.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Katherine Mathis: katherine.mathis@gcpsk12.org

    Grace Parsons: grace.parsons@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Every Wednesday from 4:15 pm – 5:15 pm

  • Intramurals

    Description

    We at Duluth Middle School are happy to provide an intramural program for all 6th, 7th, and 8th-grade students at no cost to you. The purpose of the program is to develop physical skills and help students learn about teamwork, sportsmanship, respect for others, and the development of good self-esteem. Dress comfortably in athletic shoes.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Brenna Phillips: brenna.phillips@gcpsk12.org

    Kyle Curle: kyle.curle@gcpsk12.org

    Registration Link

    Enlace de registro intramuros

    Meeting Information

    Tuesdays & Thursdays at 7:45 am

    Start Date: August 31, 2021

    **Registration form will be required.**

  • Junior Beta Club

    Description

    National Junior Beta is an honor society for 8th graders only. In Junior Beta, students will learn to promote the ideals of achievement, leadership, character, and service. Students interested will be selected based on 7th grade yearlong grades, and a review of discipline records. 

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Nicole Colbert: nicole.colbert@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Every Tuesday from 8:20 am - 9:00 am

    Start Date: October 1, 2021

  • K-Pop Club

    Description

    Come learn about Korean culture and language in K-pop Club! We will watch Kpop videos, learn Kpop dances, and eat Korean snacks! Let's have fun studying facts about Korean music and learning the Korean language too!

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Chloe Baker: chloe.baker@gcpsk12.org.org

    Sign Up Form

    Meeting Club meetings on the 2nd Wednesday of each month. First meeting Oct 13

    Club meetings are on the 2nd Wednesday of each month after school from 4:30 - 5:30 in room 1.209 on 7th-grade hallway

    Start Date: October 13, 2021

  • Multicultural Student Association

    Description

    Learning about other cultures around the world while enjoying a fun treat!

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Alynna Nguyen: alynna.nguyen@gcpsk12.org

    Lien Huynh: lien.huynh@gcpsk12.org

    Huong Tran: huong.tran@gcpsk12.org

    Rudy Rodriguez: rodolfo.rodriguez@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    2nd Monday of each Month from 8:20 am - 8:50 am

    Start Date: September 13, 2021

  • NJAHS (National Junior Art Honor Society)

    Description

    Students participate in extra-curricular art-making and exhibition opportunities, collaborative group art projects as well as individual creations. As members of NAHS, students have the opportunity for juried exhibitions on local, state, and national levels, leadership growth opportunities, college and career preparation, and an unmatched sense of camaraderie.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Dalia Hedi: dalia.hedi@gcpsk12.org

    **Email teacher for sign up**

    Meeting Information

    Every Thursday from 7:30 am to 8:50 am

    Start Date: September 9, 2021

  • Running Club

    Description

    Students will learn the basics of running, stretching, and track drills. Please wear proper workout attire and shoes and have a water bottle.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Kris Peebles: kris.peebles@gcpsk12.org

    John Flood: john.flood@gcpsk12.org

    Huong Tran: huong.tran@gcpsk12.org

    Craig Schultz: craig.schultz@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Every Wednesday (excluding holidays) from 4:30 pm  - 5:15 pm

    Start Date: October 13, 2021

  • Soccer

    Description

    Duluth Middle School's soccer clubs will include one Boys and one Girls team. Tryouts will open for all grade levels. Two teams will be selected to represent Duluth Middle School in competitive games and the Gwinnett County Futbol Tournament.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Rudy Rodriguez: rodolfo.rodriguez@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Practice: Day TBD from 4:20 – 6:00 pm

    Games: Saturday mornings

  • Student Council

    Description

    The Student Council of Duluth Middle School serves as a forum for learning and promoting the democratic process, recognizing various student viewpoints, fostering a wholesome relationship between faculty and student body, and continually aiding the improvement of Duluth Middle School, and its role in the Duluth community.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Jennifer Coker: jennifer.coker@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Every other Thursday from 4:15 pm to 5:00 pm

    Start Date: starting in September - TBD

  • Tri-M Music Honor Society

    Description

    Honor Society that focuses on community service through music. Students must have an 'A' in their music course and A's and B's in their four academic classes.

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Katherine Mathis: katherine.mathis@gcpsk12.org;

    **Email teacher for sign up**

    Materials Needed: Instrument

    Meeting Information

    Every Monday from 4:15 pm to 4:45 pm

  • Volleyball Club

    Description

    The Volleyball Club at DMS is a social club where students can learn about strategies, techniques,and positions in the sport of volleyball, all while having fun. Volleyball is an activity for ALL HEIGHTS of players! Students are encouraged to join if they want to have fun, play volleyball, and meet new students at DMS. Boys and girls can both join and any grade level is welcome to join.

    TalkingPoints Code: If the student cannot make a meeting, has a late parent pick-up, or other issues and questions, please join the TalkingPoints FWXYNX. We will also send reminders via TalkingPoints!

    Dress Code: Dress comfortably! Tennis shoes or sneakers are required. We recommend wearing shorts, leggings, t-shirts, etc.. anything you don’t mind breaking a sweat in!

    Informational Video

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Apita Waters Apita.Waters@gcpsk12.org

    Rae Cathcart Rae.Cathcart@gcpsk12.org

    Meeting Information

    Thursdays 4:30 PM to 5:30 PM

    2 Thursdays each month (generally 1st and 3rd Thursday)