• Clubs

    School clubs help students develop their social skills. They fine-tune their interactions with their peers and with faculty members, and they have the opportunity to connect with other students who share similar interests. These interactions may form the basis for enduring friendships.  Please consider joining one of our fun groups!

  • Anime/Manga Club

    Description

    The Anime/Manga Club of Duluth Middle school is intended to provide interested students an opportunity to share their love of Japanese animation/comics and learn about various facets of anime and Japanese culture. Students will have the opportunity to learn new animation techniques and share original artwork and writing and view various Anime. In addition, students will learn about Japanese culture and customs, and spoken Japanese words and phrases

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Danielle Page: danielle.page@gcpsk12.org

    Materials Needed: Subscription to Funimation and or crunchy roll. (I usually use my personal account); drawing supplies like trace paper, pencils, and pens, etc.; Anime Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    Second Tuesday of the Month from 4:15 pm – 4:45 pm; Anime Club Zoom Link

  • Environmental Club

    Description

    We will meet monthly to discuss environmental-related topics and concerns. We will also discuss ways that DMS and residents of Duluth can reduce our environmental impact. We will be using videos, games, discussions and other interesting formats to introduce and analyze information about these topics.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Rusty Sturken: rusty.sturken@gcpsk12.org; Environmental Club Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    Third Tuesday of each Month from 8:15 am - 8:45am; start date- September 15th; Environmental Club Zoom Link

  • Honors Orchestra

    Description

    Auditioned ensemble of advanced 7th and 8th grade orchestra musicians. Participants in this club must be enrolled in an orchestra class. A musical instrument is needed for this club.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Katherine Mathis: katherine.mathis@gcpsk12.org; email teacher for sign up

    Meeting Information

    Every Wednesday from 4:15pm – 5:00pm; Honors Orchestra Zoom (Meeting ID: 987 3063 8820 Passcode: dms)

  • Intramurals

    Description

    We at Duluth Middle School are happy to provide an intramural program for all 6th, 7th, and 8th grade students at no cost to you. The purpose of the program is to develop physical skills and help students learn about teamwork, sportsmanship, respect for others, and development of good self-esteem. Dress comfortably with athletic shoes.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Brenna Phillips: brenna.phillips@gcpsk12.org

    Kyle Curle: kyle.curle@gcpsk12.org; Email teacher for sign up

    Meeting Information

    Tuesdays & Thursdays at 7:30 am; start date TBD after face to face instruction returns; **Registration form will be required.

  • Junior Beta Club

    Description

    National Junior Beta is an honor society for 8th graders only. In Junior Beta, students will learn to promote the ideals of achievement, leadership, character, and service. Students interested will be selected based on 7th grade yearlong grades, and a review of discipline records. 

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Nicole Colbert: nicole.colbert@gcpsk12.org; Jr Beta Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    Every Tuesday from 8:20 am - 8:50 am; start date TBD after face to face instruction returns

  • Multicultural Student Association

    Description

    Learning about other cultures around the world while enjoying a fun treat!

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Alynna Nguyen: alynna.nguyen@gcpsk12.org; Lien Huynh: lien.huynh@gcpsk12.org; Huong Tran: huong.tran@gcpsk12.org; MSA Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    2nd Monday of each Month from 8:20 am - 8:50 am; start date and time TBD

  • NJAHS (National Junior Art Honor Society)

    Description

    Students participate in extra-curricular art-making and exhibition opportunities, collaborative group art projects as well as individual creations. As members of NAHS, students have the opportunity for juried exhibition on local, state, and national level, leadership growth opportunities, college and career preparation, and an unmatched sense of camaraderie.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Dalia Hedi: dalia.hedi@gcpsk12.org; Email teacher for sign up

    Meeting Information

    Every Thursday from 4:30 pm to 5:30 pm; start date: September, 10; NJAHS Zoom link (Passcode: 640571); **Meeting day/time subject to change**

  • Speech and Debate Club

    Description

    Engage students in public speaking, improve speech and vocabulary, as well as build confidence, and develop leadership skills. (The club also teaches "soft skills", being aware of one's audience, recognizing and respecting various points of view, and researching credible sources.)

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Alex King: alex.king@gcpsk12.org; Email teacher for sign up

    Meeting Information

    1st and 3rd Thursday of every month from 4:15 to 4:45 pm; Speech & Debate Zoom Link

  • STEM Challenge Club

    Description

    This club is a coding club. This year the club will solve a STEM challenge/problem related to Covid-19. Prior computer science background/interest is desirable but not required. The club is free except for the cost of some supplies, if needed. This is a competitive club.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Deepa Pendalwar: deepa.pendalwar@gcpsk12.org; STEM Challenge Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    1st & 3rd Wednesday from 8:00 am to 8:30 am; start date: September 2nd; STEM Club Zoom Link

  • Student Council

    Description

    The Student Council of Duluth Middle School serves as a forum for learning and promoting the democratic process, recognizing various student viewpoints, fostering a wholesome relationship between faculty and student body, and continually aiding the improvement of Duluth Middle School, and its role in the Duluth community.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Jennifer Coker: jennifer.coker@gcpsk12.org; Student Council Sign Up

    Meeting Information

    Every other Thursday from 4:15pm to 5:00 pm; starting in September - TBD

  • Tri-M Music Honor Society

    Description

    Honor Society that focuses on community service through music. Students must have an 'A' in their music course and A's and B's in their four academic classes.

    Sponsor/Sign-Up

    Katherine Mathis: katherine.mathis@gcpsk12.org; email teacher for sign up; Materials Needed: Instrument

    Meeting Information

    Every Monday from 4:15 pm to 4:45pm; Tri M Music Zoom Link (Meeting ID: 938 2457 3964 Passcode: dms)