• The establishment of the local school council is intended to help the local board of education by bringing parents and the community together with teachers and school administrators to create a better understanding and mutual respect for each other's concerns and share ideas for school improvement. School Councils shall represent the community of parents and businesses.


    Parsons Elementary School’s Local School Council is composed of teachers and parents. Members serve on the council for two years, with new members joining the team each year.

    The primary responsibility of the council is to assist the school in making decisions that will improve student achievement, increase parent participation, and help maintain a safe and secure school for teaching and learning.

    The members of the school council are accountable to the constituents they serve and shall:

    • Maintain a school-wide perspective on issues;
    • Regularly participate in school council meetings;
    • Participate in information and training programs;
    • Act as a link between the school council and the community;
    • Encourage the participation of parents and others within the school community; and
    • Work to improve student achievement and performance.

2022-2023 School Council Members

  • Laura Clark (Principal, mandatory)

    Walter Williamson (returning parent/council member)

    Evelyn Flemons (returning parent/council member)

    Dr. Lindsay Linsky (returning parent/council member)

    Minho Chung (returning parent)

    Cynthia Lewis (returning staff)

    Sharon Britt (returning staff)

    Michelle Miller (Staff Member)

    New members:

    Qiong Ly

    Chris Gilchrist

Meeting Dates

  • Meetings are held at 10:00 am.

    Location: Parsons ES Conference Room