Skip To Main Content
Gwinnett County Public Schools

Social Studies Standards K-12


The AKS standards for each grade level spell out the essential concepts students are expected to know and skills they should acquire in Social Studies. The AKS offer a solid base on which teachers build rich learning experiences. Teachers use curriculum guides, technology, and instructional resources to teach the AKS and to make sure each and every student is learning to his or her potential.

The Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS) standards were developed by our teachers, with input from our parents and community, in response to Gwinnett County Public Schools’ mission statement: The mission of Gwinnett County Public Schools is to pursue excellence in academic knowledge, skills, and behavior for each student resulting in measured improvement against local, national, and world-class standards.

Kindergarten -- Social Studies

1st Grade -- Social Studies

2nd Grade -- Social Studies

3rd Grade -- Social Studies

4th Grade -- Social Studies

5th Grade -- Social Studies

6th Grade -- Social Studies

7th Grade -- Social Studies

8th Grade -- Social Studies

High School Social Studies