Return to Headlines

Gwinnett County Public Schools home to 21 Georgia Scholars

April 13, 2022

     The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) named 21 Gwinnett County Public Schools students as 2022 Georgia Scholars. A total of 216 graduating seniors from schools across Georgia earned this distinguished recognition this year. The Georgia Scholar program identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. It is coordinated by GaDOE’s Office of Communications in partnership with local school districts and schools. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma.

     Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home. Georgia Scholars are students who have carried exemplary course loads during their four years of high school; performed excellently in all courses; successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and assumed roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools. Gwinnett students earning this state recognition include:


Brookwood HS

Aniya Pauling

Lily Burton

Sakina Bhinderwala

Kushal Amin


Duluth HS

Aaliyah Perez


Grayson HS

Joyce James

Murphy Jordan

Oluwadamilola Thomas

Richard Narey


Mill Creek HS

Ian Doran

Norcross HS

William Jordan


Parkview HS

Ruhee Merchant

Caleb Hammond

Thomas Schir

Rebecca Harcourt

Daphney Talekar

Peyton Refling

Aashka Vaidya

Kara Robinett

Jenna Hammond


Shiloh HS

Kaamya Mehra