Return to Headlines

GCPS grads selected for Georgia High School Hall of Fame

July 27, 2022

     Four Gwinnett County Public Schools graduates have been named to the inaugural class of the Georgia High School Football Hall of Fame. Jeff Francoeur, Parkview High School (2001), David Pollack, Shiloh High School (2000), George Rogers, Duluth High School (1976), and Matt Stinchcomb, Parkview High School (1994), are among a select group of 36 outstanding athletes selected for the honor. The players will be inducted in a ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Oct 22. The Hall of Fame weekend will include a game on Friday, Oct. 21, between Brookwood High and Grayson High that will be televised on Peachtree TV. The Hall of Famers will take part in a tailgate and will be introduced at halftime before walking the red-carpet Saturday at the College Football Hall of Fame, which will include a televised component.

     The eligibility for the Hall of Fame requires that players be out of high school for eight seasons and be retired from football, which excludes active players from Georgia such as Heisman Trophy winner Cam Newton and Trevor Lawrence, the No. 1 pick in the 2021 NFL Draft. The inaugural class includes 13 players that played at the University of Georgia and six that went to Georgia Tech. The next college with the most players is Auburn with four, while Florida State and Tennessee each have two. Six colleges had one, including Maryland State, South Carolina, Tennessee State, Kansas State, Clemson, and Notre Dame.