Return to Headlines

Teacher of the Year 2022-23: Gwinnett selects semifinalists for district’s top honor

September 26, 2022

     The field of teachers vying to become the 2022-23 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year just got smaller as Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) announced the names of the 25 semifinalists to be considered for the system’s top honor. The group of 15 elementary, five middle, and five high school teachers was selected from the initial list of 141 local school Teachers of the Year who were nominated by their colleagues at their local schools. On November 10, 2022, GCPS will host a celebration honoring this year’s local school teachers of the year, finalists, and the naming of the top teacher in Gwinnett County.

     This year’s Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year semifinalists are:

  • Sara Van Nus of Alcova Elementary School STEM/STEAM Teacher (Grades K-5)
  • Myesha D. Jenkins of Baggett Elementary School— Instructional Support Teacher (2nd Grade)
  • Jada Steele Bell of Burnette Elementary School— Language Arts and Social Studies Teacher (5th Grade)
  • Sarah Kuekes of Collins Hill High School— College Prep and Honors Economics, and College Prep U.S. History Teacher (Grades 11-12)
  • Keisha Blythers of Corley Elementary School— 2nd Grade Teacher--Reading, Writing, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and SEL
  • Serina Gay of Crews Middle School— Sustainable Living Teacher (Grades 6-8)
  • Hannah White of Discovery High School— Introduction to Graphic Design, Advanced Graphic Design, and AP Art and Design Teacher (Grades 9-12)
  • Ann Beindorf of Gwinnett Online Campus— Social Studies Teacher (8th Grade)
  • Jessica Gaskin of Head Elementary School— 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Shan Hicks of Hopkins Elementary School—Computer Technology Teacher (Grades K-5)
  • Ye Na Parrett of Jones Middle School— Mathematics and Gifted Mathematics Teacher (7th Grade)
  • Tanya Perry of Lovin Elementary School— Special Education Teacher--Significant Developmental Delays (Grades K-1)
  • Kelsey Prentice of Nesbit Elementary School— Media Specialist (Grades P-5)
  • David Metrio of North Gwinnett High School— Orchestra Teacher (Grades 9-12)
  • Heather Lacefield Wheeler of North Gwinnett Middle School— Science Teacher (7th Grade)
  • Becca Rackley of Northbrook Middle School— Social Studies Teacher (6th Grade)
  • Ashley Wright of Paul Duke STEM High School— Graphic Design and Production, Advanced Graphic Design, and Print Shop Internship Teacher (Grades 9-12)
  • Monica Fladger of Puckett's Mill Elementary School— 2nd Grade Teacher
  • Jason Hurd of Seckinger High School— Artificial Intelligence and Computer Science Teacher (Grades 9-12)
  • Lillian Cheimis of Shiloh Elementary School— Special Education Teacher--Significant Intellectual Disabilities (Early Childhood Program)
  • Michele Jones of Starling Elementary School— Special Education Teacher--Interrelated Resource (5th Grade)
  • Rosemarie Slodysko of Sugar Hill Elementary School— 4th Grade Teacher--Mathematics, Science, Reading, and Writing
  • Casey Culpepper of Taylor Elementary School— Special Education Teacher--Autism Spectrum Disorder (Grades K-2)
  • Amy Otto of Walnut Grove Elementary School— 2nd Grade Teacher--Reading, Writing, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Health
  • Natalie Stout of Winn Holt Elementary School— Special Education Teacher--Mild Intellectual Disabilities (Grades 2-5)