Return to Headlines

21 GCPS schools receive CS100 Award

May 10, 2023

     More than 20 Gwinnett County elementary schools have received the CS100 Award. The honor, presented by CSisElementary and CSforAll, recognizes elementary schools that commit to teaching computer science (CS) to every K-5 student.

     Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) accounted for 21 of the 160 schools recognized at the CSK5 Summit. These award-winning schools have received recognition for their commitment to Computer Science for all K-5 students. “Computer science experiences build computational thinking and problem-solving skills in our students, which are critical for future-readiness. Recent studies show a positive relationship between students who participated in CS courses and problem-solving skills. We also know that students who are exposed to computer science in early grades are much more likely to choose CS and STEM courses and career opportunities later,” says Sallie Holloway, director of Artificial Intelligence and Computer Science.

     “We believe elementary school is a great age to begin building the skills and awareness that students will need for their futures,” she adds. “GCPS is committed to providing high quality and inclusive computer science for all students. This award celebrates our teachers’ and leaders’ work to ensure that GCPS is a CS4ALL district.”

The following GCPS elementary schools have received the CS100 Award:

  • Baggett Elementary School
  • Berkeley Lake Elementary School
  • Britt Elementary School
  • Burnette Elementary School
  • Centerville Elementary School
  • Cooper Elementary School
  • Corley Elementary School
  • Dacula Elementary School
  • Duncan Creek Elementary School
  • Harmony Elementary School
  • Hopkins Elementary School
  • Ivy Creek Elementary School
  • Lilburn Elementary School
  • Magill Elementary School
  • McKendree Elementary School
  • Patrick Elementary School
  • Pharr Elementary School
  • Roberts Elementary School
  • Starling Elementary School
  • Sugar Hill Elementary School
  • Trip Elementary School

Learn more about all 160 Elementary Schools that received Computer Science Education Awards.